Question

Deleting a Branch in a Flow A/B Test

  • 24 February 2022
  • 3 replies
  • 40 views

Badge +1

I’ve been testing two branches in my onboarding flow: one short & sweet with 3 separate touch points and one that’s 8 emails long.  The longer series is clearly shown it superiority in conversions and sales (and no spike in unsubscribes), so I want to move everyone over to the longer flow.

Since I set up the flow for a 50/50 conditional split, I’ve now moved it to a 0/100 split, favoring the long one.  Now that I’ve waited a few days for the people in the short flow to have completed it, I’d like to remove the branch. 

My question: If I delete this branch, will it delete the data associated with it? 


3 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +43

Hi there @mostlyalex,

Thanks for posting to the Community!

If you click the trash icon a pop up modal will appear asking you to confirm which branch you want to delete: 

?name=inline1794642452.png

You will lose the analytics for the deleted emails. If you need to save the content for future use, you can save each email to your template library.

 

Hope this helped,

Alex

Badge +1

So I’ll lose the analytics - but will I lose any of the conversion data?  My worry is that I delete the branch and then the entire flow results will be missing the sales that came from the branch (its about 30 days of an AB split, so the $$ is significant).  I dont want to look at incomplete data.

If i delete the branch will the sales data be gone? 

 

Userlevel 6
Badge +43

Hi there @mostlyalex,

The conversion period begins when an email is received. The conversion data of your 30 day flow test should be visible on your account I believe.

When a flow message is deleted so are the analytics that were tied to that message. We suggest putting the flow into 'draft' mode. Then when you go to view your Flows, filter the status by 'live' so that you only see your live flows but keep the historical data of 'draft' flows.

If you are deleting part of a flow (ie. conditional split or a particular message) and wanting to keep the analytics - you could always clone the flow keeping the old flow the way it is with the analytics (just be sure that the old flow is in draft mode)and then delete the conditional split /message in the cloned flow. This article will give detailed instructions on how to clone the flow: How to Clone a Flow

Another option that you could keep the analytics of your old flow before you delete anything could be to run a flow performance report on that particular flow and group by those specific email messages, and then export the data. This way you will have the data of the messages and can edit the flow as needed. To accomplish this please follow the detailed instructions within this article: How to Build a Flows Performance Report.

Thanks,

Alex

Reply