Solved

Filtering who enters a flow better

• 22 February 2022
  • 3 replies

Badge +2
  • Contributor I
  • 0 replies

Hi there!

I’m relatively new to using Klaviyo and looking for a way to better filter who enters a flow - we have a welcome series of emails that is triggered by someone subscribing to the newsletter, but have found that if someone is already subscribed to the newsletter but subscribes again from a different form on the website that they get sent the welcome series again, even though they were already on the newsletter list…

Is there a way to change the trigger to be NEW subscribers to the newsletter so this doesn’t happen again?

Thanks!

icon

Best answer by In the Inbox 22 February 2022, 15:32

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +61

Hi @eck thank you for this question.

And thank you @In the Inbox and @DavidSandel for your helpful insights. @In the Inbox is spot on with his note on users only being able to travel through a list-triggered flow once. 

You may also want to investigate a potential duplicate welcome flow in your account that’s triggered off of the same list, making it appear that a user has gone through the same welcome flow twice (when in reality they’ve actually gone through two separate flows triggered off of the same list). It’s unlikely (unless you’ve explicitly cloned your existing welcome series) but worth looking into anyway :)

One little trick you can use to differentiate between flow email sends, is to click on this little icon on user profile page next to the “Received Email” metric. That will lead you directly to the flow the email was sent from.

I’d also double-check the lists the sign-up forms submit to as well. It’s also possible one sign-up form is sending emails to another list-triggered flow. You can double-check the list connected to each sign-up form in the Signup Forms tab. 

I hope that additional insight is helpful :)

Userlevel 6
Badge +29

Hi @eck