Solved

Will adding a dedicated sending domain in Klaviyo impact my ability to use Google Workspace for email addresses at that domain?

• 26 August 2021
  • 3 replies

Badge +2

I’ve created a subdomain just for ecommerce emails, and I want my ecommerce emails to come from the address hello@subdomain.website.com.

If I set up subdomain.website.com as the dedicated Klaviyo sending domain, will I still be able to send and receive emails from the hello@subdomain.website.com address using Google Workspace? I have limited experience with DNS so I’m not sure!

Thanks! 

icon

Best answer by alex.hong 26 August 2021, 21:16

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +58

Hi @yourfriendcleo ,

Thanks for posting to the Community! Great to hear you’ve started setting up a subdomain for your business! 

Using a different "reply-to" address is independent from your dedicated sending domain. You would want any gsuite MX records to point to your main domain instead of your subdomain, you can then assign TXT records for your gsuite mail server to this record.

When you setup a dedicated sending domain in Klaviyo we automatically apply the MX record for your chosen subdomain onto the dedicated sending domain. Within your DNS you can only point a single MX record to a single subdomain. 

I'd first recommend sending some test emails from an outside email address as if a customer was replying to you. You should see those emails land where you expect them on your end. If you do not, the fix would be to choose a new subdomain within Klaviyo, hello.subdomain.com for example. You can then setup gsuite MX records to point to your mail subdomain. If you do need to adjust your dedicated sending domain in Klaviyo please reach out — We would need to clear your current settings which would allow you to setup a new sending domain. 

I want to pass along two helpful articles that explain this is more detail: