Solved

Adding an Opted-In Attribute

• 12 August 2021
  • 3 replies

Badge +2

I’m new to using Klaviyo and I’m trying to find the most efficient way to select customers who have opted-in and have not unsubscribe, none regarding where the data was collected. 

At the moment, we add every-single lists into a segment (there are a lot and it will only continue growing) and add the condition ‘is not suppressed from marketing’ which I feel is quite a hassle. 

Is there an attribute (existing or custom) which could be as simple as ‘Marketing Permission is True’ or ‘Opted-in to Marketing’ and which would be updated when someone is added to a list or unsubscribe from emails? 

Thanks

icon

Best answer by Dov 12 August 2021, 19:05

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +61

Hello @Leo Pure Electric,

Thanks for your reply.

The first scenario could include people that made a purchase but did not designate a specific email marketing preference.

Understood, however, there isn’t one attribute that will collect everyone from every list and who has purchased or (taken another action) and given their consent. To achieve your goal, will need to build a segment definition accounting for the members who have opt-ed into your lists in addition to other potential consent pathways and use this as your point of reference for people who have opted-in.

If you have an Shopify integration, Shopify passes Klaviyo an “accepts marketing” value when a user accepts marketing at checkout. If the user accepts marketing but does not place an order, they user will not be placed on a list but will have “accepts marketing” = true on the profile.

Accepts Marketing = true

So, if you are using Shopify, your initial segment definition would look like the following: Properties about someone > is in list X OR is in list Y OR is in list Z (etc. for all lists) OR accepts marketing = true AND “is not suppressed”. The latter criteria, “is not suppressed”, ensures that the user has not unsubscribed.