Solved

Code a Custom Event and Connect to Sign-Up Form Submission

• 4 March 2022
  • 1 reply

Badge +2

Hello!  I'm looking for direction when it comes to coding a custom event and making it so that when someone fills out one of my sign-up forms, it triggers that event and passes event data to the user’s profile.

I’m not a developer but I’m trying to get a handle on what exactly needs to be done (and if this is the right approach), so I can find someone to help me.

Here’s a little more context...

When someone buys one of our products on Amazon or another similar marketplace, we invite them to come register their product on our website.  We collect info like Email, Name, Product Registered, Order Number, etc. 

A regular Klaviyo sign-up form will work for someone’s first prodct registration.  But if they register a second time, it will override the data from the first submission.

We need to set it up so that someone can register a second (and third and fourth) product without overriding the existing values for each custom property.

Klaviyo support has suggested that I code a custom event for when someone is wanting to register a product and pass event data from there.

They said their /track endpoint would be how you build a custom metric: https://developers.klaviyo.com/en/reference/track-post

I’d be so grateful if you could offer some direction so I know what I need to do.

THANK YOU!!

Doug

icon

Best answer by alex.hong 4 March 2022, 23:22

View original

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +58

Hi there Doug @copywriter789 ,

Thanks for posting to the Community.