Solved

creating a custom list from existing people in klaviyo

• 25 November 2021
  • 6 replies

Badge +2

I’m new to Klaviyo, and I'm trying to create a custom list of select individuals already in klaviyo, as is described on the option for “list” in the image below.  When I select it, however, I don’t see any way to select any of contacts already in klaviyo.  It would save me the time of uploading their information again, and I don’t know if there are any risks of duplicates.  Hopefully something simple I missed, but I couldn’t find a way to do this in help articles.  I welcome any feedback.

icon

Best answer by Dov 26 November 2021, 17:44

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +58

@Scojo ,

By default, Shopify opt-ins should be in their own newsletter list on your Klaviyo site. I would recommend segments over lists for tags and like to refer to this HC article.

Badge

Hmmm. This doesn’t really solve the issue we were trying to tackle. We’ve certainly used this type of segmentation previously, but still doesn’t provide a solution for building 2 or more separate lists using Shopify tags. 

Thanks,

Joe

Userlevel 7
Badge +58

Hi there @Scojo ,

I see from your initial outreach that you are looking to use Shopify tags to filter customers.

You would want to use the "Properties about someone" to the Definition vs "What someone has done" 

Klaviyo segment builder showing a segment defined by Shopify tags contains newsletter
Hope that helps

Badge

Is there no way to create and/or add to a new list using Shopify tags?

For example, we’d love to keep two separate “lists” in Klaviyo… one for retail customers and another for our wholesale customers. It would be great if we were able to automatically split customers into separate lists based on Shopify tags, instead of just segmenting our master list.