Solved

How do I migrate to the new Public API key?

• 15 March 2024
  • 4 replies

Badge +2

I am a noob in any coding. I received an email that Public API is retiring, and I am using my Public API for my domain (crazydomains.com.au). Can somebody help me please. The email about API retirement is just so confusing for me who has no coding knowledge. 

What do I do???

icon

Best answer by DavidV 25 March 2024, 20:57

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +60

Hi there @bbjuwe

Welcome to the Community! Happy to help clear some things up for you.

First, all levels of expertise are welcome here in our Community and everyone has to start somewhere!! 

Second, I believe you’re referencing our retirement of our V1/V2 API’s, mentioned in our developer group announcement below. 

I suggest you check out API migration resource page in our developer portal and take the first two steps to successfully transition to our new API’s!

1. Audit your current API usage in your account
  2. How to migrate from V1/2 to our new Klaviyo APIs

Finally, this additional Community thread might help you gain more insight shared by one of Champions!

Hope this helps!

-Taylor

Badge

Hi Taylor,

The articles you’ve provided are absolute information overload. Many people that use Klaviyo for their businesses (Myself included) won’t know how to interpret any of this information. Especially since all we’ve done is sign up for a Klaviyo account and just linked it to our Shopify businesses.

We understand that our public API key’s must be updated but none of the articles expicitily explain how to go about this. 

Unless you’re a seasoned coder you probably won’t understand this. Not to be a pessimist but It feels like Klaviyo has just dumped all this information on us in hopes we will give up and pay Klaviyo agent partners to do it for us instead - That isn’t very helpful at all.

TLDR: this should be simple and it’s not and that’s extremely frustrating.

Userlevel 4
Badge +10