Solved

Emails going to spam after migrating

• 12 April 2023
  • 4 replies

Badge +1

Hello! I am new to Klaviyo and just sent my first campaign but it is likely that the majority went to spam (had a VERY low open rate compared to my average on previous platform). Has anyone else experienced this issue?

I did not have this issue on the previous platform so I’m trying to wrap my head around what could be causing this. Did I miss a step during set-up? Do I need to update my DNS records? If so, what is needed? Do I need to set up a sending domain? 

Clearly, I am a deer in the headlights! Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

icon

Best answer by David To 13 April 2023, 15:39

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +60

Hello @pacificcookiecompany,

Welcome to the Klaviyo Community and to the Klaviyo platform! 

Some common mistakes I see often that would impact one’s deliverability when migrating platforms are:

In my experience, I hear a lot of brands wanting to explore an email marketing platform before fully committing or doing a slow transition while still sending on their old/previous email platform. This is actually ill advised. 

By using two different providers, it makes it difficult for inbox provider to determine which source you’re actually sending emails from versus a potential malicious actor - even if both sources were legitimate. Because of this, it’s best to fully commit to the migration. 

Being too hasty on the new platform though would also be a detriment and impact deliverability if you haven’t gone through a warming process on the new platform. This ramp up/warming period is to let inbox providers understand you’ve switched platforms and that you are a legitimate. By sending fewer emails to a more engaged audience, it’s building trust with the inbox providers and will be much more beneficial in the long run.