Skip to main content

Using Segments & Sending to Recipients Local Timezone

• 30 May 2024
  • 2 replies

Hello Community!

I wanted to take a moment to share something I didn’t fully realize until I was troubleshooting the results of a recent campaign. I have been using Klaviyo for +4 years now and I am constantly learning ways to better use the platform, strategically how best to use the platform for my clients, and general new things within the platform. 

In my opinion, one of the important features any ESP should have is the ability to send a campaign to your contacts based on their local time zone to give all contacts an equal opportunity to engage with the campaign. 

Klaviyo makes this super easy when scheduling your campaign. If you’ve never used it, when you are scheduling your campaign, rather than select a specific timezone (Eastern, Pacific, etc.) you select Recipients Local Timezone and when the campaign sends, depending on the time (in this example, 9am), the campaign will send in batches at 9am EST, 9am CST, 9am MST, 9am PST, etc.

Here’s where my recent “ah ha” moment occurred that I didn’t fully realize that I wanted to share with you all. 

For this campaign, I had also set up a segment to be used as an exclusion. It was meant to exclude users who had recently made a purchase from receiving this particular campaign. While I didn’t notice it at the time, but when you select to use Recipient’s Local Timezone,  there is a slight change to the scheduling box:

This little checkbox is how Klaviyo determines who will receive, or won’t receive your emails. 

Natively, Klaviyo will send to the contacts within any segments you have selected for your campaign at the time of scheduling the campaign. 

Most importantly, this is how sending to Recipients Local Timezone works as well.