Skip to main content
Solved

newbie here-- can you AB test segments?

• 12 June 2024
  • 3 replies

I feel like i know the answer to this but I just want to confirm. 
My client asked if we can AB test a segmentation strategy i had proposed on our flow campaigns but I’m pretty sure that’s not possible since most flows are triggered by an action. 
Additionally, I started wondering if you can even AB test segments for like campaigns? Again I don’t think you can because essentially people can fall within the same segment so they’d get an email twice. But I’d like to confirm. 

Because then I started thinking, how would I know which segment worked better for our campaigns, by just looking at the numbers?

For context my client is sending email to his whole newsletter list so I suggested we created a new segment of engaged 120. 

3 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +26

Hi @ecompaopao,

Welcome to the Klaviyo community and great question!

You can’t directly A/B test a segment itself, but you can A/B test inside of a flow. So if you had one specific condition (let’s say you wanted to test engaged 120 vs. engaged 60) you could add a profile property and create a flow filter that manually routes 60-120 into a different pathway to 0-59. This will give you the specific results based on the actual property so you can prove a hypothesis.

If you did want to use 2 segments you can always avoid the cross-over in receiving the email twice by adding a profile filter on the trigger, example:

The other functionality to call out here is that you can create a conditional split inside of a flow. So for example if you wanted to take the entire segment but you wanted to experiment with wait steps, you could build something like this:

Hope that gives you some inspiration of different ways to approach this! 

Thanks
David

Badge +1

Thank you so much!