Solved

Will a suppressed profile become active again through an Ad?

  • 7 April 2022
  • 3 replies
  • 18 views

Badge

Hi, quick question, what happens if a suppressed profile repurchases trough, for example, an ad?

Will they become active again?

icon

Best answer by Taylor Tarpley 7 April 2022, 21:48

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +44

Hi there @Giovanni

 

Great Question! 

 

A profiles’ suppression status mostly speaks to their inability to receive marketing form you, not what actions they can take with your brand. For instance, suppressed profiles can make purchases with your company but still be suppressed. This is one of the reasons why we recommend keeping suppressed profiles in your account rather than deleting them as you still have important user data you extract from these profiles. 

 

A profile can resubscribe and thus become ‘active’ again by: 

  • Filling out a Klaviyo signup form or subscribe page 
  • Filling out a form that relies on Klaviyo’s V2 Lists API endpoint (either a third-party form, or a form built by your developers)

 

If you manually upload someone’s profile information or they resubscribe via a source that doesn’t rely on the V2 Lists API endpoint, such as a Facebook ad or certain third-party form tools, it will not mark them as unsuppressed in Klaviyo and you cannot email them. If a suppressed customer subscribes at checkout (e.g., by checking the "Accepts Marketing" option in a Shopify checkout), they will not be resubscribed. I’d recommend checking out  our Help Center Documentation on this to learn more! 

 

Thanks for participating in the Community! Hope this helps! 

-Taylor 

 

 

Badge

What if they purchase on shopify? Should shopify integration re-enable them?

Userlevel 6
Badge +44

Hi @Giovanni

 

Happy to provide more clarify here! 

 

As mentioned above, 

 suppressed profiles can make purchases with your company, but still be suppressed. This is one of the reasons why we recommend keeping suppressed profiles in your account rather than deleting them as you still have important user data you extract from these profiles. 

 

If a suppressed customer subscribes (again) at checkout (e.g., by checking the "Accepts Marketing" option in a Shopify checkout), they will not be resubscribed. 

 

 

 

We only use the below to officially resubscribe someone, and not for example, if they check the ‘accepts marketing’ box at checkout, to alleviate abuse since Klaviyo users can technically enable that accepts marketing to be checked off by default either in their backend or through CSS. If a user unknowingly checks the box at checkout after already previously unsubscribed, it wouldn't make for a great user experience imo if they receive a ton of stuff they already unsubscribed for.

  • Filling out a Klaviyo signup form or subscribe page 
  • Filling out a form that relies on Klaviyo’s V2 Lists API endpoint (either a third-party form, or a form built by your developers)

 

Hope this helps! 

-Taylor 

 

Reply