Skip to main content

Hi -

I’m a developer exploring the possibility of implementing Klaviyo with a custom platform my company created at the request of one of our clients using Klaviyo on other platforms.

tl;dr:

I know very little about Klaviyo and how it works, and our platform has no existing integration with it - I am in the “exploring feasibility of this project” stage.

I want to create a relatively-simple, server-side-only api implementation for specific user event tracking (site activity, orders placed, etc).  I want to be able to do this without heavy user/product management, and by using identifiers the system already has (e.g., manufacturer part number, user email address, etc).

Is this possible?

We have a custom-built B2B platform used by a number of distributors.  We have recently been approached by one of our clients who is using Klaviyo on another platform and asked if we could implement the user activity-tracking features (specifically visiting site, viewing products, adding cart, checkout, order placed, product ordered) into our platform.  At present, we are being asked for no other Klaviyo features.

Our platform uses a shared codebase among different “instances” for different client users - none of the others are using Klaviyo and may end up using other activity-tracking services. For this reason, I would like to keep this integration modular and abstracted so that it can be cleanly ignored by other instances - using a purely server-side implementation seems the cleanest solution.

I have spent significant time looking through the API documentation here https://developers.klaviyo.com/en/reference/api_overview, but can find nothing that is clearly what I’m after.  “Events” seems to be for defining event types and “Metrics” only has “get” methods.  None of the other sections seemed to have anything that looked relevant either.