Hi there @Giovanni,
Great Question!
A profiles’ suppression status mostly speaks to their inability to receive marketing form you, not what actions they can take with your brand. For instance, suppressed profiles can make purchases with your company but still be suppressed. This is one of the reasons why we recommend keeping suppressed profiles in your account rather than deleting them as you still have important user data you extract from these profiles.
A profile can resubscribe and thus become ‘active’ again by:
- Filling out a Klaviyo signup form or subscribe page
- Filling out a form that relies on Klaviyo’s V2 Lists API endpoint (either a third-party form, or a form built by your developers)
If you manually upload someone’s profile information or they resubscribe via a source that doesn’t rely on the V2 Lists API endpoint, such as a Facebook ad or certain third-party form tools, it will not mark them as unsuppressed in Klaviyo and you cannot email them. If a suppressed customer subscribes at checkout (e.g., by checking the "Accepts Marketing" option in a Shopify checkout), they will not be resubscribed. I’d recommend checking out our Help Center Documentation on this to learn more!
Thanks for participating in the Community! Hope this helps!
-Taylor